tons of newbie questions in AZ

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by demonica29, Apr 25, 2009.

1. demonica29

demonica29 New Egg

Apr 25, 2009
    Queen Creek, AZ
    hi, i'm monica. born and raised a city kid, recently spent time living on a ranch 17 mile out into the high desert and got a taste for the "crunchy granola, tree hugger" lifestyle. now i'm back in the phoenix metropolitan are, i'm in a town that was all cows and farms just a few years ago so having chickens is not a problem.

my time on the ranch gave me a love of fresh. we grew all our own produce in a greenhouse and although we didn't have chickens, theough purchasing fresh eggs, i have discovered the wonder of them.

so here's my questions, stupid though some of them might seem, i am totally new to this. first, in my house there are 3 adults and an 18 month old, my mom lives 3 miles away. how many chickens do we need to provide eggs for us? second, i have a gianormous backyard, all covered in gravel, no landscaping, no nothing. i am in the process of setting up some raised planters to get my veggies growing again. will i need to keep the chickens away from the veggies? which is better, fencing the chickens or the veggies? since i have a dog, i assume the chickens.

i want chickens only, no roosters, i'm originally from boston, so brown eggs are what looks normal to me, but the blue and green eggs i have gotten fresh are really cool. egg color is low on my list of prerequisites, but all other things being equal, i prefer colored eggs. that being said, what chickens should i get? i want good layers but friendly birds are probably even more important since i have a toddler.

and lastly, how much initial cash outlay for EVERYTHING i need to get started, so i know how long i will have to save. oh, and what exactly is everything i'll need? i have been doing research and have fallen in love with the eglu, it seems pretty complete but kinda expensive, what do y'all think?