Total newbie grasping threads at BYC

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by saints, Jan 12, 2012.

1. saints

saints New Egg

Jan 12, 2012
    Hi, I'm Nicole (Hi, fellow BYC newbie Nichol!). My family has been thrown into raising chickens and I am a complete novice. We have a few Bantams, and I am finally getting into it for real after, this morning, my daughter came in and told me it looks like we're going to have hatchlings soon. I've been reading elsewhere and I'm trying to plow through the BYC "required reading" now but it's so much information to sort through--I'm already cross-eyed from trying to make sense of it. So I'm going to have a lot of questions for you all!

2. S&N Livestock

S&N Livestock Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    southern ohio
    [​IMG] from Ohio

3. brambleberries

brambleberries Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2012
    Virginia
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Welcome! I'm a newbie too :) Everyone has been really nice and helpful so far, so you can be sure that you are in good hands!

4. Cacciatore

Cacciatore Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 19, 2011
    San Pablo, CA
    [​IMG] from Northern California. [​IMG]

5. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    [​IMG]Welcome to the BYC Forum! [​IMG]

The required reading is a great place to start, but of course you will have lots of questions. If you are not sure you are ready for hatchlings yet, you have the option of just collecting the eggs that the hen is sitting on [​IMG]

6. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    [​IMG]

7. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT