1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Toys in Brooder

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Master S.M.C, Jan 27, 2009.

1. Master S.M.C

Master S.M.C Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2009
    Maryland
    I Just wanted to know about the average toys you guys place in the Brooder for the chicks to play with during the day, I completely forgot about that.

2. ThePolishPrincess

ThePolishPrincess Chillin' With My Peeps

I've never done it before, but I'm thinking about a mirror this year. I'd love to see those reactions! [​IMG]

3. willowcol

willowcol Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2008
    Macclesfield NC
    My kids always put small stuffed animals in with ours. They just get some at yardsales for a nickel.

4. TXmom

TXmom Chillin' With My Peeps

There was a post about this a couple days ago. I put a cardboard box on it's side (mine is stable on it's side, make sure it can't fall over and squish them)...they go in it and also jump on top of it. I also have a 2x4 ramp in there that they run up and down on, and sit/sleep on.

Mine also LOVE an upside down tupperware lid with Parakeet grit sprinkled in it. They play in it, scratch and sit in it, and eat it. I hope they can't OD on this stuff...they LOVE it!

5. bigmike&nan

bigmike&nan Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:Yes there was... got my wife and I thinking about how we could spoil ours, most of whom will be 2 weeks old tomorrow (Wednesday). We took a playground thingie we got a Petco for our parakeets that they never played on and gave it (all cleaned up of course) to our bantam cochins... This is them 4 days ago. In a week they will almost be too big to play on it anymore.
    [​IMG]