Trying to be prepared!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Soriyak, Apr 2, 2018.

1. Soriyak

Soriyak In the Brooder

Apr 1, 2018
    Northern TX
    Hey All,
    I am very new to keeping chickens, I don't actually have any yet, planning on getting some this summer. At the moment I'm trying to do all my research and make sure I get the right breeds for my climate. I have 3 children, so it would be great if they were also docile and friendly. I'm also trying to figure out how best to find a balance between happy healthy free ranged chickens, and chickens that won't be picked off by predators. Been doing quite a bit of research and realizing how much I DON'T know. lol I have found soo much useful information here, and I'm so happy to be part of this forum, everyone seems very friendly and helpful!! I have many interests my favorite hobby has been my saltwater tanks and my seahorses, which I realize I might have to minimize since living in the country makes power outs more frequent and longer, which my saltwater babies don't bear well. :( I am very excited about my chickens though, and can't wait for some fresh delicious eggs. lol :)

2. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    Here’s a good link where you’ll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping chickens - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You can use this link to contact members in your area - Find Your State Thread

Best wishes

Pork Pie

007Sean, KikisGirls, N F C and 2 others like this.
  3. FrankieDoodle

FrankieDoodle Poppy-Dog

Jul 29, 2017
    California