Trying To Help A Chicken Egg Hatch

Southernbell

In the Brooder
8 Years
Dec 22, 2011
Hello! I'm new to actually registering myself into Backyard Chickens, I usually just read other peoples situations that are simular to mine. but anyways, i have a big problem with some chicks I'm trying to hatch from an incubater(since I dont have a broody hen)...I've tried helping one of my eggs that WAS chirping, and stopped chirping and just moved from time to time...I read on here that if its been more than 21 days then I need to interfere and try to help it to hatch...well, I listened to them(which I dont know was the right thing to do), and so NOW, all I have is an opened egg, but the situation is not like any other that I've ever heard of, I made an opening in the blunt end where the air pocket is, and ive taken away the top part of the egg, so now my egg is topless, and when i mist my eggs, that egg that I've interfered with, on the membrane(I'm guessing is the white part), the membrane turns from white to clear and I can see a very small part of the chick inside and around it is yellow *stuff*, which idk if its the birds fluffy part, or yolk that still ahs'nt absorbed into the chick, but I think I might have interfered too much. This is my first time hatching eggs at all. I WAS going to let one of my"what seemed broody" hens sit on it, but she would'nt, even if it was putting off heat. So I had no choice but to buy an incubater and incubate them. In the opening in the egg, you can see it moving aroynd in there...but im scared ive messed with it too much and I need someone elses opinion on what to do, or maybe some information on what you think might happen, or if you think what I've done was wrong or right....I'm lost..
sad.png