turkey price

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by BigBirdHatcher, Nov 28, 2011.

1. BigBirdHatcher

BigBirdHatcher Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2011
    Odessa
    I have a chance to buy a trio of Rio turkeys.
    I do not know a whole lot about raising turkeys so i was wondering a few things.
    Ok first off, how much is the trio worth and how much should I spend on them if i have to make the 3 hour drive to pick them up ??
    They birds are supposed to be this years hatch and be laying age ?? Will they still lay eggs in the winter since they are yearlings ??
    Also what should I look for to make sure im getting what im being told I am ??
    And lastly, what are turkey eggs/chicks going for ??
    All of this and any other advice or tips would be greatly appreciated, Thanks !! [​IMG]

2. mommyofthreewithchicks

mommyofthreewithchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2010
    Minnesota
    I don't think I can answer all your questions as I am still learning. I don't think the hens will lay this winter but in the spring they sould depending on when they were hatched.

Turkey eggs were going for 30/doz and poults were going for $7/poult that was last year from local sources. Hatcherys wanted 15 more poults in an order and for me I couldn't see raising that many without trying to raise a few before jumping over my head. (as it is I have 8).

In the spring I saw mating pairs go for $50-$150. (kicking myself on the pair for 50)

Good luck, I am enjoying my big birds and am learning a ton about them! We also ate the two broad breasted I raised over the summer and they tasted great. Can't wait to try one of my bourbon reds.

3. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello!

Well, hopefully you already have a pic of the Rio breed. (I haven't heard of that breed, but I'm in my first year raising turkeys.)