1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Turning a shed into a chicken house??

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by beedaisy, Mar 15, 2007.

1. beedaisy

beedaisy New Egg

Mar 15, 2007
    I'm planning on getting 3 rescue hens next week but have some work to do on my shed first. I was hoping someone could help by giving me some advice as I'm new to chickens!

I have very high walls all around my garden and have been told that I don't need a run. I don't mind my garden being messed up and there is concrete around the bottom of the fence to keep foxes out.

I have a fairly large shed which I plan to convert into the chicken house but I'm a bit worried about a couple of things:

1) The floor is thin wood and I am worried that this might not be very hygenic and that mice could get in.

2) The walls are grooved and may be hard to clean. Also there are some small gaps where the wood overlaps and I'm not sure if this a good thing (ventilation) or a bad thing (cold). Is it a good idea to line the inside with plywood or something similar? If so would I need to put a vent in the roof or would small drill holes around the top of the shed provide enough air?

3) It's not possible for me to put electricity in the shed. Will the hens be warm enough in the winter? (I live in Devon, England). If not, does anyone have any tips on how to keep the shed warm? It's not practical for me to put bales of hay around the shed.

4) How many nest boxes should I have for 3 hens? There's enough room to build one each but do they need that many?

Any advice would be much apreciated [​IMG]

2. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Welcome to the forum!