Two 4 month old Pekins picking on a Rouen duckling

TurkenDuck73

In the Brooder
9 Years
Nov 6, 2010
I need help. I have two female Pekins, pretty sure they're females, no drake feather on either, that are about 4-5 months old. I've had both of them since they were a couple of weeks old. Spend a lot of time with them outside. I've noticed that they have a tendency to "lunge" at one of my dogs or one of my chickens when they get a little close to me but nothing of real concern, sometimes the wife. Today I brought home what I believe is a Rouen duckling, I'm guessing 2-3 weeks old, and introduced the Pekins to it. They "lunged" and nipped at the duckling and then they, what appeared to be, tried to drown the duckling. The Pekins get close and they kinda shake, or vibrate their heads and then "lunge". I put lunge in parenthesis because it's kind of a head thrust followed with running at the victim. I'm new to ducks but I'm trying to learn everything I can.

Also, while I'm here, my chickens chase me when I walk outside. They run up, get real close and stop. I'll stop real quick then turn around and bend down. They don't run away but they won't let me pick them up. I'll actually run around the yard and they'll chase me for awhile. Is this normal or do I just have the oddest creatures ever?

Thank you.

You have to wait until the duckling is 12 weeks old or they will kill it. At 12 weeks you can slowly introduce them to each other, but be prepared to see some fighting until they have established the pecking order.