Ventilation question

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by sonjap, Apr 19, 2012.

1. sonjap

sonjap Out Of The Brooder

Mar 16, 2012
    Parker, CO
    Hi all,
    Newbie here. I bought this coop: http://www.precisionpet.com/detail.aspx?ID=191
    The door has way too much gap around it so I'm going to maybe find some rubber weather stripping or something to close that up. I will also be putting in either a hinged door or slide up door where the ramp enters. This coop will be inside a predator proof (I hope!) pen about 12X24. I've been reading a lot about how important it is to have ventilation but no drafts. I'm trying to figure out the best way to do that since this coop is so small. I only have 4 chicks. I've seen a recommendation of 1 sq ft per chicken, but geez, that would remove a whole wall of the coop! I'm thinking about drilling a lot of holes along the top under the eaves on the side where the ramp enters. Or should I cut out a section and put hardware cloth on? I don't know if I should not weatherstrip the top part of the outside door so there will be some cross ventilation for whatever else I do. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    I don't know how cold your winters get where you live, but one thing I did learn is that chickens are more cold tolerant than many think. We did put some weather stripping on, but I don't know how important it was in retrospect. I did learn that the foam style weather stripping was a bad idea because the chickens liked to pull it off in pieces. Oh well, live and learn.

If you check out this thread half way through, there is a good explanation of ventilation: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...to-insulate-that-is-the-question#post_8748029

3. ECBW

ECBW Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    NJ
    First thing is not to rush. Why airtight seal the door then drill holes in the wall?