Week by week chick growth! Helpful if you're unsure of age :)

farlo4

Chirping
5 Years
Mar 13, 2014
This is my first time raising chicks, so I took waaay to many pictures of them. It's turned out to be really fun because I can look back and see how they've grown. They grow FAST! I thought you all might enjoy seeing the change week by week (well, close to week by week). If you don't know the age of your chicks, maybe this will help? (Oh and I also had a couple of meat chickens, so when you see these huge ugly white things, that would be them. Just ignore them! xD)

FYI, all photos were taken with my phone camera, so they aren't the best quality.

Two or three days old:

They are living in a cardboard box with a 60 watt white heat lamp and eating medicated chick starter.

Not sure who's who, but we've got two Buff Orpingtons, one White Cochin Bantam, one Blue Andalusian, and another chick that we ended up losing. :( Oh and the meats.

One week old:

Moved them to a dog kennel in the house with a 100 watt red heat lamp. Still eating medicated chick starter.

Chickadee: Buff Orpington

Momo: White Cochin Bantam

Two weeks old:

Moved the group out to the coop (no access to the run yet, locked up in the coop 24/7). Red light still on consistently. Switched their diet to non-medicated chick starter/grower so the medication would get out of the meat chickens making them safe to eat. Added electrolytes to their water.

Left to right: Rose (we lost her, sadly), Mo, Chickadee, Shadow (Blue Andalusian), and Chickadoo (also Buff Orpington).

About 3 1/2 weeks:

About 4 1/2 weeks:

First time exploring their run. They now have free access to the coop during the day. The red light is only on at night. Feeding is the same.

Mo is my favorite <3

Just a size comparison with the meat chickens who are the same age!

6 weeks old: