Welsummer or brown leghorn?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sherrydeanne, Jun 23, 2010.

1. sherrydeanne

sherrydeanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Lily is 13 weeks old and she's supposed to be a Welsummer, from Estes Hatchery. About a week ago I noticed that her tail was very upright and today I noticed her white 'ears'. What sayeth the experts?

*crosses fingers*

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. OutInTheStiks

OutInTheStiks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2009
    Thorn Hill, TN
    I sayeth I am no expert, but those white earlobes scream brown leghorn.

3. sherrydeanne

*sigh* Yeah, those ears, that comb, and that tail are killing me. I purposely went with Estes because they're supposed to have fairly decent welsummers and well, karma had it out for me I think. I went to feathersite though and couldn't really find any pictures of brown leghorns that look like her either. I think she has to be a bad example of one of the two though, but I could be wrong.

4. MikasGirl

MikasGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2009
    Coos Bay, OR
    I wouldn't be quick to call her a Leghorn, the comb doesn't look floppy or big enough to be a brown leghorn female... The coloring to me looks a little bit more Welsummer-ish, but you are right. The earlobes and tail are slightly worrisome. Either way she is beautiful! And so is that black and white EE!

5. chics in the sun

chics in the sun Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2010
    St.Petersburg
    Does she run and fly around like a bat out of you-know-where? For no apparent reason? 'cause boy that tail looks like the one I have that everyone here decided is a white leghorn (sold as an Ameraucana), and that's how she is. Slimer than the other girls, too. And my Leghorn's comb is still fairly small at 16 weeks.

6. Downshifting

Downshifting Out Of The Brooder

Mar 16, 2010
    Raleigh, NC