What about transporting chickens across state lines?

HHandbasket

The Chickeneer
9 Years
Jun 2, 2010
El Dorado County, California
In our efforts to move to a more rural area, we are looking at a variety of possibilities, including a permanent relocation to my husband's home state of Louisiana. (JUST looking at possibilities at this time.) If we do, it would be at least several months to a year or so from now. We would probably be driving out, and we have a camper now AND a trailer so when we move, we would be using those to transport ourselves and our animals. Would we be able to move our birds? We have six, and by then I anticipate we'll have 8 or so. I am concerned about laws regarding transporting livestock across state lines. I have never done anything like this before, and I wonder if we would have to get a permit of some kind, or would it be best if we rehomed our birds when we leave and start over with new ones when we get settled in Louisiana?

Does anyone have any experience with such a move across state lines, and if so, have you encountered any issues?

Quote:
You should taslk to Cetawin. She moved from west to east coast last year. Lots of experience on how to do it right.

Quote:
You should taslk to Cetawin. She moved from west to east coast last year. Lots of experience on how to do it right.

Yep. In a large truck, right?

It probably depends on whether they are underage, or if you are transporting them for immoral purposes.

HAHAHAHAHAHA! You know I'm kidding! This just struck my weird sense of humor and I couldn't resist.