What are the typical percentages of fertile vs infertile eggs in your experience?

PaulX

Songster
Nov 15, 2018
Hello,

I ordered 24 fertile duck eggs 7 days ago and have been incubating them.

The shipping of the eggs took only one day from the farm to my house, and when they arrived the air cells were so so tiny, I suppose they were super fresh. Plus, all the air cells were intact and there was no crack at all in 23 of the eggs.

Anyway, what surprised me today is, I just candled them for the first time (and first time ever incubating and candling) and I think I saw veins in all of them. 15 of them clearly had an embryo and the veins clearly look like the spider-web-like thing I saw online. The other 9... I'm positive I saw veins even though I can't find where the embryo was located. I'm almost positive there was no blood ring. Well, it's my first time ever so I'm not confident what I saw in these 9. Anyways, safe to say, this means I have 100% fertility in all of my eggs!

I certainly didn't expect this. I presumed at first that about 20% would be infertile, and I actually only expected to hatch 25% of the eggs given that I'm inexperienced, my incubator is a cheap one, and I didn't even have a second thermometer to calibrate it until today. So, fingers crossed I might just hatch 'em all now lol. Tho I'm only planning to keep 3 (and hoping I can correctly identify females by vent-sexing)

Well, the question, as in topic header, is that, in your experience (or maybe you have data from some scientific studies), what is the percentage of fertile vs infertile eggs from your flock or from eggs you order? Also does the higher drake to duck ratio means more fertility percentage?

I'm talking about only the case that you intend to have fertile eggs of course, not when you only keep flock of all ducks or simply bought the eggs from the supermarket.