What Breed and Gender?

luvnmychkns12

Hatching
7 Years
Jun 18, 2012
Central VA
I am new to the chicken raising! My 5 are 14 weeks old (8.8.12). We hatched eggs in an incubator for a school project. I adopted 5 in hopes to have a couple of hens for eggs. The farmer who donated the eggs gave the teachers a list of possible breeds. I do not have that list but some of the breeds that I can remember that were on there are- Australorp, Araucana, Ameraucana, & Rhode Island Red. I think there was one more. So as these chicken get older and through internet searches/books, I've come to determine that these guys must be MUTT chickens! There were 3 colors of eggs in the incubator- green, brown, and an off white. None of the green eggs hatched. For now they are free rangers during the day and all stay in the coop at night. I know very soon that I will need to separate the males from the females. And I'm probably only keeping one rooster. I'm trying to give the black one some time to crow before I decide who to find a home for.

"Uno"
The black chick, (who was all black, orange on beak, yellow legs, small patch of white on chest) was all black like an Australorp (with the green and purple iridescent feathers) until about 9 weeks of age when brick red feathers started coming out on his back. Then red feathers started coming off the back of his neck. I say he because I'm pretty sure he is a roo based on shape and tail. He has not crowed and only makes squeaky sounds. His comb recently (12weeks) started turning red.
So my questions are... is this a pure breed or is he a mix?? And do you agree that he is a roo?? And should I be concerned that he hasn't crowed yet.

"Daisy" who is now "Day-Z"