What color is my rabbit and a couple other questions?

shee

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jul 6, 2011
This is Poppy. I am trying to figure out if he is considered Chestnut, Castor, Otter etc. He is a New Zealand, dam is black and sire is white. Poppy has what I have seen listed as chestnut in his coloring (black tip, then yellow/tan, then blue/gray banded fur), but then about half of his fur is yellow tipped instead of black and a reddish gold at the back of his neck. He also has a fine white trim on the inside edge of his ear, tan around his eyes, around parts of his nose, tan under his chin, tan belly and white on the underside of his tail.

I am new to the rabbit business. Is there any recommendations on reading material (book, internet etc) for figuring out what colors you have in your litter of kits besides the basic black, blue, white and the broken. I think I finally have it figured out that chestnut classification in one breed is considered castor in another. I only have New Zealands. And, also reading material on what constitutes show quality as opposed to pet quality. All I know for New Zealands is that Black, White, Red, and the broken are the only showable colors with possibly blue being recognized next year.

Also, I recently got a white buck (Poppy's sire), and a white doe. The people who had them before I got them have had successful litters from the pair. The doe giving birth and successfully raising 11 kits. Our first breeding of the pair produced 9 kits, but all died between 3 and 5 days (day three is when I got an accurate count and there were 9 living...day five all were dead). Two of the 9 seemed to have lived a little longer then the rest since they actually had the start of the white fur on them and were a little bigger then the rest. Any suggestions on what may have happened to the litter?

Thank you in advance for all help you can give to this confused bunny momma.