1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What Constitutes a Good Food

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by jenkassai, Nov 11, 2011.

1. jenkassai

jenkassai Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    Hi all!

I am new to chickens [​IMG] I have one girl who just started to lay and of course am anxiously waiting for the others to follow suit! I am running out today (or tomorrow) to get some layer feed. I really research my dog foods, and know what ingredients I want to see, what I don't want to see, and percentages of protein, fat, etc. that I am looking for. I have NO clue when it comes to chicken feed!! I want to feed the best stuff I can find and afford. Our local co-op carries Purina and organic feeds. TSC has Dumor. I don't know if I can find some places that mix their own, but would be willing to try. However, my question is, what ingredients should I be looking for? Is there stuff I should NOT want to see (I know soy can be a controversial ingredient)? Are the percentages of protein, etc basically the same in all layer rations, or are there certain numbers I should be looking for? My girls do have access to a yard / ranging, but I want to feed them a complete ration for those times when they have to be confined and with winter coming I assume they won't be able to find everything they need anyways. I'm not looking for a recommendation of one brand over another, more an education of what stuff to look for so I can research and decide [​IMG]

Thank you! And my girls thank you [​IMG]

2. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    Here is a link to the purina site...I trust them and if you pan down, you see the exact nutritional content...give you some idea of what to look for.