What Did I Do ?????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by nancylee, Oct 9, 2009.

1. nancylee

nancylee Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2009
    Montague, PEI
    My first time hatching eggs. I got a 1602N thermal air Hova-Bator.
    No turner I did it 3 times a day. Temp stayed 99 to 100. Humidty around 50. All eggs were fertile 10th day candeling and growing.[​IMG] 5 days later I didn't think they grew much and could not see movement but thought I would leave them. 2 days before hatch I smell something (while trying to hear peeping) and oped bator and took one out, it smelled, candelled, didn't look good, opened, yep no good. along with the 5 others. Did I do something wrong.[​IMG] My first time, dissapointed, but have to try again.
    Any help what I might have done wrong might be able to help me with my next batch.
    Thanks
    Nancy

2. Laney

Laney Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2009
    Spring Hope, NC
    I'm not that experienced myself but so far it doesn't sound like anything you did. A few questions others will ask.

Were the eggs shipped? Were they your eggs? If they were your eggs have you or a hen hatched them successfully before? What breed/age were the hen/roo if they were your eggs?

Sometimes it's just something genetic that goes wrong and not something you did, just like a human miscarriage.

Laney

3. k2chickens

k2chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    New Castle, Indiana
    3 times is the bare minimum for turning. Personally i turned my eggs 5 times a day by hand on my first hatch this year and got an 85% hatch rate. Maby your chicks settled to one side of the shell some how due to not turning so much and the growing came to a stop?

4. nancylee

Sep 17, 2009
    Montague, PEI
    Thanks for the replies