What do I do after hen hatches her eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by iheartchkns, May 27, 2010.

1. iheartchkns

iheartchkns Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2009
    I have a hen setting on her own eggs, which are due to hatch around June 9. This is my first time dealing with this. After the chicks hatch, will the mother lead them to water and food, or do I need to do this? I've incubated my own eggs before and was responsible for this step, but I don't know what the process is when the hen does the hatching. Thanks in advance for the information.

2. SuziQ991

SuziQ991 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2009
    Missouri
    Have food and water very close and the hen will do the rest! All you have to do is enjoy!

1 person likes this.
  3. iheartchkns

Mar 8, 2009
    Thanks. I guess I will need to make sure they are in a secure location where the chicks can't wander off, then? They are currently in eggs under the hen who isn't going anywhere, so this isn't an issue yet. I feel like this is a no-brainer, but I appreciate hearing from people who have already been through this, so I know I'm doing everything right.

4. iheartchkns

Mar 8, 2009
    Oh, I need to make sure the feed that's nearby is chick feed, right? And mother will go over and figure out where the grown-up feed is?

5. slickchik

slickchik Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2008
    Southern California
    Quote:The chicks won't wander off. They will stay close to the momma hen. In a few days she will take them out and about and teach them about the big world...

6. Oven Ready

Oven Ready Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Thailand