What Do I Do Next???/

Discussion in 'Geese' started by echix, May 13, 2011.

1. echix

echix Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2007
    TEXAS
    Nanna is sitting on 14 eggs (some were stinky and had to go).

She is about 2-3 weeks along.

What do I need to do next - someone said to sprinkle the nest days before hatch. I think she started setting on the 24th of April. Easter actually.

Do I need to remove babies when they hatch or leave them in there with her?

..... I've been a chicken mom for 8 years, first time with geese!!

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    My one year old geese are sitting on the nest for the first time this year, so I am no expert. I have never heard of sprinkling the eggs on a nest before. That probably means that a lot of folks get goslings without sprinkling, but it probably wouldn't hurt. As I understand it, if you want the goose to raise the young then you leave them with her. She will probably stay on the nest and most eggs should hatch within a few days of each other. Maybe someone with more expertise will post, too...

3. marathonmultiplesmom

marathonmultiplesmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Chehalis, WA
    Quote:Let nature take its course. The mom knows how to do everything. All you have to do is provide bathing water, drinking water and food. You can leave them with her, too. (good luck taking them away is more like it) [​IMG]

4. Goosehaven

Goosehaven Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2010
    Indiana