1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What do you do to get ready for winter?????

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ChickenKid11, Oct 9, 2011.

1. ChickenKid11

ChickenKid11 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2011
    So I am new to this what do you do to get ready for winter with your coop,chicken,equipment ect. I would just like to know to see if I need to or if I have already done it.
    Thanks!!!!

2. CrestedGirl

CrestedGirl Polish Obsessed

Mar 7, 2011
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Although it doesn't get terribly cold in Texas, what I do after I clean the coop is put a mixture of shaving and peat moss to help maintain heat in the coops.

3. ChickenKid11

ChickenKid11 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2011
    Ok thanks that would help!!![​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

4. Patricia Jane

Patricia Jane Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2010
    Petaluma CA
    Living in Northern CA isn't much to prepare for except the complete cleaning of the coop, inspecting the interior and exterior of coop, windows door, pop door etc. to make sure all is fine. Check the fenced yard for any possible holes that need replacing or repair. Mine is just regular maintanance. We can get quite a bit of rain and can get pretty cold some days but we in general are pretty mild compared to some of you.

5. Olive Hill

Olive Hill Overrun With Chickens

Apr 19, 2009
    Complain about the end of summer. [​IMG]

6. mrkpero

mrkpero Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 26, 2008