What do YOU do when you add an adult chicken to flock?

FluffyChic

Songster
10 Years
Jan 2, 2010
Monroe, NC
Now, I am new to this, but I've read that you have to quarantine the hen you're adding to the flock. We only have one house and run for them right now. We added a rooster recently by allowing them to free range and he has blended in with them just fine already. Do YOU always quarantine them before adding in, or can you just free range for the day, let them work it out and watch how it goes at night?? Sorry if this sounds stupid.
tongue.png
I just saw he blended in just fine and would really like to add a couple other standard hens to our flock w/o having to build/buy anything els. Feed back please. Thanks;)

I did not know about quarantining chickens when I introduced new ones to the flock. What I did was put the new chicken in a dog kennel and put the kennel in the coop at night. In the morning the established girls (11) would stand arround the kennel looking in and wondering what was going on. I then put the established flock out in the run and let the new chicken get used to the coop. Towards evening I put the new chicken back in the kennel and let the established girls roost. Once then were roosting, I put the new chicken on the roost with them. I put all kinds of treats all over the coop and let them all wake up in the morning together. I have not had any trouble with pecking, fighting etc. They are usually too busy finding treats to worry about the new comer.

The whole reason for quarantining is becasue the new additions, you dont know exactly what they have been exposed to or may be carrying. Its to protect your flock from any diseases that the new birds might be adding to yours.