What is the best breed for beginners and should I start with chicks or adults?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dreamgirl21, Mar 19, 2017.

1. dreamgirl21

dreamgirl21 Just Hatched

Mar 19, 2017
    Hi! Im new to raising chickens. I did grow up on a dairy farm and we did have chickens. We raised them for eggs and meat.
    I have great memories from then but its been a long time so I want to try it myself to have farm fresh eggs and mature for
    my compost. I have ordered my chicken coop but haven't decided which breed to get yet. I am a home caregiver for my 82 year
    old mom. I thought a few chickens would be great for my garden and yard.
    What is the best breeds for beginners and should I start with chicks or adult chickens?

2. QueenMisha

QueenMisha Queen of the Coop

Welcome to BYC! It's great to have you.

There is no one "best breed." There are so many good choices for beginners it's not worth even listing all of them. Just about any common breed you'd find at a feed store - Rocks, Wyandottes, Easter Eggers, Sussex, Orpingtons, Sex Links, Production Reds, etc. - are good choices. Pick what you like the look of best, that's about all that differentiates most hatchery production breeds these days.

Chicks can be more of a hassle to raise, but there are caveats when purchasing adults too. While chicks are not necessarily more difficult, they are more work and time. Adults, on the other hand, you must be careful in sourcing - they have more potential to have been exposed to diseases and parasites and it is not uncommon for folks to sell off older hens who are past their laying prime as younger, fresher birds - and it is very hard to age a chicken unless it is rather young or quite old. In my opinion started juveniles can be a good choice - about six to ten weeks is a good age - however these can be harder to find for sale.

1 person likes this.
  3. dekel18042

dekel18042 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2013
    Pennsylvania