What kind of coop or pen in needed for Meat Birds?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by mybelle5, Dec 31, 2008.

1. mybelle5

mybelle5 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2008
    Memphis TN
    Im wondering does a meat bird Live in a coop? [​IMG] What type of coop or pen should they be raised until it time to process them.

Sorry.. I've never done this before and I'm about to venture into raising chickens for eggs and meat and need some expert advice..

Thanks,

Michele

2. willheveland

willheveland Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2008
    southern tier,NY
    Look into chicken tractors for meat birds.They are too heavy to roost like layers and should be raised outside on fresh ground.
    Do a search on the chicken tractors,there is a ton of stuff on here about it. Will

3. mybelle5

Dec 19, 2008
    Memphis TN
    You Rock! thank you so much..

4. muddler6

muddler6 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2007
    Jefferson County, PA
    I use an old recycled swing set frame covered in chicken wire and a large tarp to keep it fairly dry inside. For meat birds, don't get too fancy (like I did, but that coop and run is for my egg layers now). If there is a chance of predators (or dogs that people ignorantly let run free) keep the wire small, and double up with sturdy wire, between opposums and a local dog, I lost several birds last year.

5. mybelle5

Dec 19, 2008
    Memphis TN
    [​IMG] I have to say the recycled swing set frame set up is one of the most cleaverest yet. I laugh cuz I cant drive past any junk wood or trash day without looking for stuff to use to make chicken coops.. This chicken stuff is addicting.. I need a twelve step chicken program! [​IMG]

6. muddler6

Sep 12, 2007
    Jefferson County, PA