1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What size are the eggs supposed to be???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by hoseofcarol, Aug 14, 2013.

1. hoseofcarol

hoseofcarol Out Of The Brooder

Apr 21, 2013
    I recently posted a question on High Desert Homegrown Poultry, and got no answers. So I will try here. I am fairly new to raising chickens - So please bear with me here. I purchased a mixed flock, about 2 years old. There are very large hens in the mix as well as 3 bantums. My little silkie hen was so picked on she was near death when I got her. She looks so good now, she has grown back most of her feathers. Now for my question. I thought that my little silkie was laying eggs, little half size eggs - Now I think that those are from the 2 other bantums, because recently I have collected 2 eggs the size of an egg shaped nickel. Does anyone out there know what the egg sizes are for the different breeds?? I have 2 silver seabrite bantums and my very tiny silkie. I also have 10 standard to large breed hens. The standard breeds I get - it is the Bantums that I have the questions about.

2. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    I have only standard chickens, but occasionally get a really small egg. The eggs are usually different sizes, but I don't worry about it.

How long have your chickens been in their current coop and run? Chickens don't handle change particularly well. They may need to settle in before they pick it back up.

Chris

3. hoseofcarol

Apr 21, 2013