What supplies do you need to raise chickens ? (detailed)

alexis13288

Hatching
5 Years
Jan 21, 2015
Im new to this, and I'm soon getting some chicks. Which is best btw: Chick or chickens?

ANYWAYS, HERE IS MY MAIN QUESTION~
what are some supplies YOU GUYS USE for your chickens? Please be specific, maybe, like for food, grit, and (cooked/raw) corn, and ( cooked/raw) rice, etc.
And even some supplies you guys use for your coops!
THANKS ~!
love.gif

Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

I personally think that starting with chicks is the way to go. This insures that you can take them as much as you want and it also means they have a higher chance of being healthy. You can find chicks at hatcheries online such as Mypetchicken, mucmurry hatchery and Meyer hatchery. Otherwise, you can look at your local feed/ farm stores in the spring.

There are many things I use for my flock. I use Natre Wise layer feed crumbles, eggshells, mealworms and kitchen scraps as my chickens' feed/treats. (Treats should only take up 10% of they daily diet though. ) I always make sure they have water. I use an autmoatic feeder and waterer which means I don't have to feed and water them each day.I don't buy grit but instead just allow my flock to find it on the ground.
Treats I feed them consist of dairy, veggies, fruits, bread, rice, pasta, etc. Here is a list of things to and not to feed your flock https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/chicken-treat-chart-the-best-treats-for-backyard-chickens

For the coop, I use 2X4"s with the 4" side facing up as the roosts for the chickens. They hav three of them. I have three nests for my five hens. (You need one nest for every 1-2 hens you have. ) I use straw and pine shavings as my bedding. I clean the coop and run about once every three weeks. I deep clean th coop meaning I clean EVERYTHIG once a year. I also use fake eggs in my nests to show the hens where to lay.