What time of day does a hen lay her egg??

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Jossy J, Feb 26, 2009.

1. Jossy J

Jossy J Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2009
    Hi there,
    I'm new to this and thinking of getting some hens this summer. I would like to build a coop inside my horse barn.

My question is, do the hens need access to their nesting boxes 24/7 or do they lay at night or during the day?

Any info would be appreciated!
    Thanks.

2. Crunchie

Crunchie Brook Valley Farm

Mar 1, 2007
    Maryland
    Answer: Whenever they darn well feel like it! [​IMG]

Seriously. [​IMG] When I first got chickens, I had this vision of my hens all laying early in the morning. I'd get up and head out to do my barn chores, and collect all of the day's fresh-laid eggs at one time. Not so. I sometimes get eggs as late as 4 or 5 p.m.! Generally they will lay before 10 or 11 a.m., but you can't old 'em to it!

Oh, and [​IMG]

3. marceedee

marceedee Out Of The Brooder

Feb 5, 2009
    Cheney, WA
    My hens lay after 8 am and before 5 pm. They are working girls and don't lay any eggs earlier or later! I have a light that turns on at 5 am and off at 8 pm.

This is my first year of raising hens and I was expecting eggs laid at all hours.

4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    They lay an egg about every 25 hours. So if a hen were to lay an egg at 7 am today, she'll lay around 8 am tomorrow. It continues thru the day like that until it gets way late in the evening. Then they start over the next day or take a day off, whichever.

5. My chicken is cuter

My chicken is cuter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    Houston, TX
    My one hen that's laying now lays at about 10am

6. farmerlor

farmerlor Chillin' With My Peeps