1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What to do with canned chicken?

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by BettyR, Jan 10, 2011.

1. BettyR

BettyR Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2008
    Texas Gulf Coast
    I was given 4 tuna size cans of chicken....I've never used canned chicken before. What can I do with it? I would really appreciate any recipes. [​IMG]

2. maizey

maizey Chillin' With My Peeps

buffalo chicken cheese dip and i like to make chicken curry with canned chicken for a fast meal in a pinch.

http://www.franksredhot.com/recipes/FRANK'S®-REDHOT®-BUFFALO-CHICKEN-DIP-RE1242

for the curry i just drain the chicken, saute it with an onion and some garlic if I have it, curry powder to taste and either a can of coconut milk or a carton of plain yogurt and serve over rice or couscous. done.

also chicken salad. Its never as good as fresh but its handy.

3. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    You can use it to make the chicken helper, chicken salad, chicken dips...

4. bigmike&nan

bigmike&nan Chillin' With My Peeps

Make yourself a nice chicken waldorf salad to serve on some butter lettuce. I'm guessing they're 5.5 ounce cans (Kirkland sells I think 7 or 8oz cans).\\
    Drain a can or two well, dump it in mixing bowl, small dice a stick of celery, a Granny Smith apple, 1/3 cup raisins, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and add enough mayonnaise (or Miracle Whip) to coat everything nicely (probably about 3/4 cup mayo). Season with salt and pepper and serve on Bibb or Butter lettuce. If you have a little curry powder in the house about 2 tsp. would really gussy it up nice.

5. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC