When do ducks start laying?

Tanichca

Sparkle Magnet
May 6, 2009
Akron, Ohio
Hello! Well, I did it again. A year after my call drake was taken by a coyote, a friend gave me a pair of mallard/call crosses. They were hatched in October. My question is, when do they start laying? I'm a bit of duck noob, but I got them so that I could learn more about them, as I want to be a poultry judge one day. Thank you!! :) :) :)

Oops, almost forgot. Picture! :weee

Last edited:
I have two mallard ducklings

... and before I got them, I did some research. It said that ducks start to lay around five months of age.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have two mallard ducklings ... and before I got them, I did some research. It said that ducks start to lay around five months of age. Visit my website that is linked to the "Chicken Boy" in my signature!
Awww! How adorable! Five months.... Okee-dokee. Thank you. :)

Our Pekins have started laying. Found a single egg out in the open in the yard by the pond. First time duck owners. Our ducks free range. Question is, will they just naturally sit their eggs or should we collect them and get an incubator? How long an an egg sit unattended before it is no longer viable?

Our Pekins have started laying. Found a single egg out in the open in the yard by the pond. First time duck owners. Our ducks free range. Question is, will they just naturally sit their eggs or should we collect them and get an incubator? How long an an egg sit unattended before it is no longer viable?

I have heard Pekins don't hatch eggs well. I started a Pekin club if you are interested in joining other pekin owners on BYC. Maybe some of the other members have a better answer :)
http://backyardchickens.com/t/742668/pekin-duck-club