When to start weeder geese to make good holiday feasts?

SunriseChickers

Feather Fluffer
Premium Feather Member
5 Years
Nov 12, 2018
Ohio
Howdy folks! This is my first time venturing into the Geese forum.

My folks have been discussing weeder geese for a while, and using them as Christmas and Thanksgiving dinner after the growing season.
This summer, my boyfriend and I are planting a garden on my folks' land, and I was thinking it would be a nice excuse for finally enacting the weeder geese plan!
So, my main thought is, "When should we get the goslings so that they'll be of a good weight by the time we need to butcher?". And when would be a good time to butcher them so that can be ready for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Otherwise, what are some good geese breeds? We will likely be ordering from Meyer Hatchery here in Ohio, I haven't checked breed availability yet.
Is two enough, or should we do more? I know it tends to be based on size of garden, I can get measurements tomorrow if need be for that recommendation. I'm just not sure if two is enough, socially speaking.
We have absolutely no experience in geese, so any extra tips are greatly appreciated!

Thanks all.

Most goose owners on BYC get pretty attached to their geese. I'm not sure many grow them for meat.

We have butchered out a few along the way. Most often the next year when I find out I have too many grander. I believe meat geese are butchered as young as 8-10 weeks, and anytime after that. Probably best for field raised is 6-9 months. I guess it depends how big of a goose you want to eat, and what breed you are using.

If you only get two you may fall in love with them. My last batch I raised would follow me everywhere in the yard. They end up being very likable, and can make great pets.