When to start worming chicks?

Nicole95

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 15, 2013
Hi everyone, my question is pretty straightforward. I'm new at being a chick momma and wondering if/when I should be worming them. They're about 3 weeks old now. Also, what brand of wormer do you guys recommend??

Thanks!

I deworm the first time at 6 months old. I use Valbazen and liquid Safeguard for goats, rotating between the two. I deworm twice a year. How often you deworm depends on the climate where you live, warmer/wetter = more parasites. Drier climates = less parasites.

wow this is a great question. I have on hand wayzine and a wormer called ivermectin I also have levamisole for gape worm. there are different brands for different worms example phenothiazine is for cecal worms piperazine is approved for round worms. my health book says to avoid using a wormer unless you see the worms in the feces or your chickens look scrawny scruffy loose weight and lay fewer eggs. so far I haven't wormed mine yet. it says if it starts to effect your chickens health then worm. the health book says free range chickens might need wormed more often than caged chickens it also says after you use one wormer for a time parasites become resistant to that wormer. different wormers have different egg with draw periods. you can test your birds feces with a microscope and identity the worms that way. the duration between wormings can depend on climate. warmer climate you worm more often. some worm every six months. you see its up to you how you want and when you want to worm. wayzine is a common wormer. remember to check with draw period for eggs and the wormer you chose. hope this helps some. best wishes.