When will I know the chicks are here?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rclover08, Aug 6, 2014.

1. rclover08

rclover08 New Egg

Aug 6, 2014
    Hi all VERY new to all of this. We have lincolnshire buffs. Got a very broody hen and we felt so bad taking her eggs off her all the time. So we set her up in a separate coop on 3 eggs. Candled at day 7 and we had 2 definates (saw them move!) and 1 which I thought looked like a yolker but because I'm a novice marked it and put it back under. Went back 3 days later to double check it and the hen had kicked it out anyway. How clever!! She is very dedicated. Anyway we are on day 20 now. My question is will I just know when the chicks are here? Will their tweets be quite loud so I can hear them from under her? Or will the hens behaviour change? I don't want to move her to look obviously as I don't want to disturb anything or damage the eggs. I've left it to her expertise and just ensured she has plenty of water and crumb. I know it's probably a really blonde question, but I just don't know if it will be obvious? Thanks in advance

2. Odelia

Odelia Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2014
    Idaho
    Don't worry it will be obvious. They will cheep. She will stay on the nest until both of them hatch. Don't about them eating or drinking right away. They still have the last of the egg yolk and are fine for a long time with out anything. When they are dry and feeling a bit recovered from hatching they will start coming out from under her.

3. CSisley

CSisley Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2011
    Eastern NC