Which bird to choose?

Southshore

Chirping
8 Years
Mar 30, 2014
Hi all! Hope you and your birds are well. I am new to keeping parrots but have had the experience of handling some really wild species of animals. I want to ultimately have a Scarlet Macaw,but I don't want to jump into it unprepared. I was hoping someone here can guide me to the one species I should start my journey with but I don't want to start with the extreme opposite end of the spectrum and get a super calm parrot such as the Pionus or the Poicephalus family. I want to start with a moderate bird. The options I am looking into currently are the Indian Ring Neck, the Alexandrine parakeet (I live in Pakistan where these birds are native and thus HUGE savings on the cost of bird) or the Red Fronted Macaw.

I would love to hear your opinion on this. Looking forward to hearing from you :) All advice would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Could find much about the temperament of the Red Fronted Macaw on the internet. If someone could send me a link with detailed information on temperent and training that would be just great!

I always kinda hate that people think about "starter birds". Any parrot will live for decades, so get one you really, really want. Instead of getting a starter bird, find a way to be around birds.

Thank about it like this, a scarlet macaw will cost (near me) about $1500 to $1800. How much time do you spend to put that much money in your pocket? Spend at least half as much time in the company of Scarlet Macaws, volunteer at a rescue, join a bird club, work for a breeder, pet-sit, find a way. If, at the end of that time, you are madly in love and think this is a great idea, get the bird you want. If not, rethink everything.

I always kinda hate that people think about "starter birds". Any parrot will live for decades, so get one you really, really want. Instead of getting a starter bird, find a way to be around birds.