why are some of my quail dying ?

cluckawhile

Chirping
Mar 15, 2019
Hello there,
I have been having problems with Japanese quail dying since last year. I have been keeping quail for several years. They live outside in roomy enclosures with plenty of shrubs and grasses. They have houses for shelter and get fed regular game crumble, some budgie seeds plus greens, which they love.
Since last year I have experienced that quail are dying as young birds. They fluff up, stop eating and on feeling them are very skinny and their breastbone sticks out. After loosing a few I decided to cut one open and I found a very enlarged section of the gut with a semi liquid brownish substance inside. Since then I have had more death and found the same symptoms every time. It has not affected my covered aviary run, and not all birds but is really distressing.
I have been reading a few articles and it seems to be some kind of enteritis? ( but not sure about that). Cleanliness of the runs seems to be a big thing and I have been removing the dirty topsoil more regularly and liming and recovering the ground more than once, but I am afraid it is still happening, although seems to have slowed down.
I am also using apple cider vinegar once a month and a product called diamol which we can buy here in NZ as I prefer natural remedies if possible, but most of all want my quail to be well and happy.
Would appreciate any help. many thanks

Can you post any pictures of your setup? You said it's covered, so that means wild birds aren't able to drop poop into their run/home? (just double checking/ruling stuff out). Are they down hill from anything? I'm asking about watershed. Like if a wild animal were to poop uphill, then it rains & gets washed into their run.