Why do eggs get abandoned? Are eggs ok?

davekrista

Songster
9 Years
Jun 9, 2010
Uxbridge, MA
A few months ago my husband and I got our first chickens. We now have 12!!

Now we are presented with an opportunity to "take in" 4 abandoned duck eggs. How different is raising ducks then it is from our hens? From what we are told, the eggs were abandoned by the duck mommy and also a hen had been broody and sitting on them and has since abandoned them as well. I have a broody hen so I am considering having her sit on them until they hatch, which we are told will be in another week.

Is there a reason why ducks and/or hens abandon eggs? Is there something wrong with the eggs? I only know about my chickens and i'm still learning as I go, but I'm trying to decide if adding the ducks will be right for us. Any advice and/or tips are greatly appreciate.
Krista

If we decide to take them in, (which I am leaning toward yes, hubby isn't sure yet) we will pick up the eggs tomorrow evening after he gets out of work. I have heard of using a candle to see if its fertile, but what exactly do I do and what do i look for?

The person we are getting them from has a bunch of ducks and chickens, roosters, geese and they can't keep any more. They will be a mixed breed, black sweedish x indian runner mixed with one of a number of other breeds, so who knows what they will look like. IF this person has all these, I would hope they would have already made sure they are in fact fertilized?

You can candle the eggs using a small powerful flashlight in a dark room. There are charts that will show you what you should see. You could google those.

You can candle with a bright flash light in a dark room. You just want to make sure they are fertile. If there is one week left, then most likely it will all be dark in there. Here is a reference chart:
http://www.metzerfarms.com/Candling.cfm