Why does their Blue have this show through?

Germaine_11.20

Songster
10 Years
Jun 6, 2009
Idaho
Hello,

I have a few Giant Blue Cochins that seem to have leakage. I was wondering if someone could tell me why. I am not good at understanding the genetics and colors and am trying to learn.
The sibling to the Blue Roo cochin does not have leakage, if I breed him will his offspring?

Also, here is a pic of my Lav Orp I got off eggbid. He looks to have the same issue. Is he not good for breeding or is this still a common problem with the lav Orps and i just need to keep breeding to improve?

Thank you to all who help!

33539_dscn2274.jpg

33539_dscn2196.jpg

33539_dscn2206.jpg

That is most likely the base color showing through. Happens on blacks, too. In addition to that, many blues can become sunbleached. I know my blue Orp, Suede, gets really brassy right before his molt, then the new feathers are really blue again.

Thank you Cynthia, I feel better now!

Oh gosh I am all ready to put your/mine Delaware eggs in the hatcher! I have everything ready, bought sponges and even the Lean Cuisine! Can you tell I am excited?