winter weather

CraziChickLady

In the Brooder
7 Years
Sep 3, 2012
North Carolina
So i got a couple of questions. Im new to owning chickens. Do they lay in the winter...i live in north carolina and it doesnt get real cold here the lowest is probably 30s . also ive been using a red 250 watt light outside of the coop to keep them warm, is it ok to use a red light or does it make them aggressive? thank you :)

Your chickens will lay through out the winter if you have the right lighting and they don't molt. I have heard before that red light can make them more aggressive but I really don't know it could just be a myth!
Good luck!
smile.png

Last edited:
Hey Crazichick lady I am in NC too.
frow.gif
I was wondering the same thing about wintering the girls. We havent set up a light yet. I wonder if it is to late? I was kind of hesitant because technically we arent supposed to have our ladies in city limits. So I kind of worry setting up a light might draw attention to them.

You don't need the light for heat. My girls lay all winter with no light, they free range in the snow. I live in Ohio and it gets pretty cold and windy here. What kind of birds do you have.
Michele

i'm from NC too.
frow.gif

I have about 11 chickens right now and were not using a heat lamp. Its been pretty windy here but they stay out all day and then go into the coop at night. We have insulated the coop and put a tarp over top to keep out the wind. They all seem very happy, and i've heard unless its freezing not to add light because they don't sleep as well. But who knows i'm new to this thing too; lol. Good luck and let us know what you do.