WOOHOO!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by hdchic, Apr 25, 2008.

1. hdchic

hdchic Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2008
    IL
    Ok, maybe I'm a bit over excited, but I am new to chickens, and maybe next year I won't be so goofy. Until then, well, you'll have to ignore my child-like behavior..lol

We had purchased eleven 3 year old hens, and eight 17 month olds. After putting a roo with each set, and finally realizing we needed to seperate the two groups, the younger ones started laying. That was exciting to me in and of itself, giving me about an egg a day for the last couple of days. (We've had them 2 weeks) But this morning...WOOHOO! I went down to open the coop, feed/water, and do my usual 'egg check' when what did I find? Not one, but TWO eggs!! [​IMG] I couldn't believe it, I was so excited, and they were still warm!! The best part is that they are from the younger ones, whom I thought had stopped laying because of the move. I had gotten about 3 from the other, older group, but they weren't real nice eggs. Almost soft, and a real light tan.

Anyway, I know its not a big deal, but I was really excited, so I thought I'd share. [​IMG]

2. tiffanyh

tiffanyh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2007
    Connecticut
    [​IMG]

3. Ericasl

Ericasl Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2008
    The Dalles OR
    I know how you feel I just love getting there eggs, I just love all the shapes and sizes and colors. I started with 1 then 2 now somedays I get 21 eggs. I still just love it, excited is a good thing! Have fun with your new girls.

Erica

4. wynedot55

wynedot55 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2007
    congrats on starting to get eggs.that means they are getting comfy in their new home.you should be getting more eggs with each passing day.

5. Redfeathers

Redfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2007
    Gervais OR
    It IS a big deal! I still think collecting eggs is the best part of my day.

Congratulations!!

6. QueenieBee