worried i'm not doing something right.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by t_4_turtle, Oct 19, 2011.

1. t_4_turtle

t_4_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    Ok, so I’m still new to this wonderful world of chickens. We got our first one (who turned out to be a rooster) and fell in love with the idea of possibly having fresh eggs from our back yard. Turns out you need HENS to get fresh eggs. So at the end of May we got twin barred rock pullets, 3 weeks later we got our last and final barred rock baby pullet. We built a chicken coop from scratch and now they even have a chicken run that takes up half of our backyard! I feed the girls chicken feed mixed with scratch that I get from the feed store. I also give them fresh fruits and veggies every now and again. The older girls are 21 weeks now and the baby is 3 weeks behind them, what should I be doing in preparation for the big day? I am so excited and I don’t want to do anything wrong, what do my girls need from me in order to lay for me? I understand the days are getting shorter and laying might decrease, but does this mean they won’t lay for me at all? Any tips on feed or extras, or tips on nesting boxes, or anything really would be so helpful and appreciated!

this is their coop...and the baby back in august (10 weeks )
    i never seem them lay in the nest side, they roost on the pine tree branch but
    they mostly roost on the top of the "T" wood and poop where i think they should be laying.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. t_4_turtle

Apr 19, 2011
    [​IMG] Ask me anything you need to get accurate information,[​IMG] pictures, and details,[​IMG] anything you need ill get it to you.. [​IMG] just somebody please help me be a better chicken farmer [​IMG] [​IMG] i love my chickens!!!

3. Farm_Maven

Farm_Maven Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    Tishomingo