Young rooster pulling out neck and back feathers (and eating them🤦🏼‍♀️) of 8 young hens. Evil or learning?

BigBabyschick

In the Brooder
Jul 2, 2023
Newbie here. We got 1 EE rooster (?6 months old) and 8 hens (similar age and not yet laying) for our first flock. We ALSO picked up 2 laying Wyandottes and their Mature Good rooster. They wyandottes are are separated from the younger flock but can see/smell/hear each other. The EE Roo has begun crowing and young ladies are not laying. His behavior seems aggressive to me. He grabs them when they lest expect it and bites/pulls out neck and back feathers and EATS them. He’s making NO attempt to mount them. Is he just stupid and learning or is he evil?! The young flock was previously housed together and had 2 additional cockerels with them. I was told he was very submissive in the previous home…
I seperated him from them for 2 days and as soo as they rejoined, he pulled feathers from 3 hens in a matter of 5 min. He’s back in TimeOut!
What to do?

He could be still learning though low protein often causes feather eating, what's your birds diet?
I kept the same feed that they have all been on previously. It’s an 18% protein all flock pellets and crumble mixed with black oil SF seeds. They also get black soldier fly grubs for treats. That said, I’m open to suggestions!

I kept the same feed that they have all been on previously. It’s an 18% protein all flock pellets and crumble mixed with black oil SF seeds. They also get black soldier fly grubs for treats. That said, I’m open to suggestions!
Adding the BO seeds? In what proportion?

I’m not hearing evil. The fact that the girls aren’t even laying yet makes me think they’re all learning.

Since he’s actually eating the feathers, not just pulling them, I’d look closer at what @nuthatched is asking about feed and protein.

Frankly, it doesn’t even sound like breeding behavior.