Button - My Foster Muscovy! Gender???

FiFirefly

Hatching
Sep 26, 2015
Hi there!

I'm very new to this but I've been looking after a duckling for 5 weeks now which was abandoned by its mum :( so I've been the foster momma duck to Button for 5 weeks. I was just wondering if anyone could maybe tell by these photos whether little Button is a female or male?! We believe Button to be Muscovy but cannot be 100% certain :)

Look forward to hearing from you guys!

Sorry here are some more photos!

They might be better photos
smile.png
Welcome to BYC, at 5 weeks it is still a little early to say although Buttons legs look pretty far apart under him/her which makes me think drake But I'd still give it a couple weeks before saying absolutely. What are your plans for Button once he is adult size? asking because he may have some trouble adjusting to the wild side since he has been raised by you and not taught to learn survival skills from his duck mama. Sure is a cutie makes me think of my house duck Opie. when he was tiny.

Hi there thanks so much for replying so quickly! In actual fact Button goes back to the little animal sanctuary that found him/her this morning :( :( it's going to break my heart but Button will be gently introduced to the other ducks and will live in a sort of domestic duck pen so he will be outdoors etc but just not in the wild. I will still be able to visit but I doubt Button will remember me after a few more weeks. I will be able to take photos though so will keep a record of changes :) do you think Button is fairly small for 5 weeks or is that quite a normal size? I presume if yes then the growth from now will be pretty quick?

Eugh it's going to be tough handing this baby over, gonna miss Button like crazy :(

Hi there thanks so much for replying so quickly! In actual fact Button goes back to the little animal sanctuary that found him/her this morning
sad.png
sad.png