Can chicken keeping improve your health?

Pics

Tesumph

Knotenolk
8 Years
Jul 10, 2015
First of all, this might be in the wrong forum. Sorry.

Hello all! Been a very long time since I started a new topic and I have a tendency to ramble, so bear with me. This is something very near and dear to my heart and I really hope I get some insight and opinions.
To cut to the chase: I’m looking for fellow BYC member’s experiences of chicken keeping improving your health. If you have actual licensed therapy birds or experience with that, awesome! But I expect a lot more anecdotal experiences with backyard flocks.

To try and explain my muddy thought process, I’ll just share some back story. I’m a newly married college student who is dead set on getting my veterinary degree if it kills me (and it might). I was recently diagnosed (possibly misdiagnosed) with epilepsy, and have an ugly list of other health problems that I’m working through, including a possible heart problem, as well as a lot of trouble with fatigue.
I lost my flock during Harvey last year and haven’t had birds since. Since I just got married, my dogs stayed at my parents house, and my beloved ferret died very recently. The house is way too quiet but we’ve been waiting on more animals because we were planning on moving and being very busy.. however, I recently (read: 30 minutes ago) decided with my husband that we are not moving closer to university this summer like we intended, because of my health.
Not gonna lie, this sucks. I can’t drive, work, or go to classes.. ok, now I’m just venting, but hey. I’m upset and angry and all I can think of is.. dang, I deserve some chickens.