Commerical Hen???

wislandchickens

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jul 15, 2013
Washington State
I'm still pretty new to showing our chickens, and so I have a question.
Just got back from fair, and we did fairly well. But one of our chickens(Barred Rock) placed 2nd,and
on the note card it said....Commerical Bird.
What does that mean?
barnie.gif

That's very interesting, but also raises more questions for me. Why are the Plymouth subdivisioned? To get those certain divisions out of the Plymouth are they breed with a different type chicken, and if so, wouldn't that be a mixed breed? As to my knowledge, they do that with other certain purebreds, ie.. Blues, Lavenders, Orpingtons and such..
But not with other breeds like RIR, or Austrlop, etc.. Besides beautiful colors and show qualities what is the benefit?
s

The breed's name isn't Plymouths. It is Plymouth Rocks. Most folks just say Rocks. The come in several varieties, Buff, White, Barred, Partridge, Columbian, etc.

However, if you were to picture these birds without their individual feather coloration, just picture them in black silhouette, they must all look identical. Same Standard of Perfection applies to all of them, for all of them are Rocks. Plymouth Rocks.

Breeds of chickens are not species like Robins or Sparrows, or Bald Eagles. A breed is a human idea. The originators of the breed made a composite bird using several sources, several breeds of birds some 130-140 years ago. When this composite bird, the Barred Rock (the original Rock) was shown around the country, bred true to it's self, and was stable genetically, a detailed standard was written and explicit and complete drawings (think blueprints) for the Rock rendered. This Standard and these drawings was submitted to the American Poultry Association and the breed was accepted.