Duck eggs day 26 pipped on the wrong end

ivy_huan

Songster
May 31, 2022
I have a Bator full of eggs (33 eggs in total, 24 supposed to be hatching the next few days and the rest in a week )

I woke up this morning with one pipped on the right end but no progress since ( not sure when it pipped. It's 5pm )

Sometime between 2-5 I have another egg pipped on the wrong end... And membrane looks a little yellow so I dabbed a little coconut oil on it

I can't for the life of me to have my humidity up pass 60... I now have a wet towel around a corner of the incubator see if It will help

This is my first time really hatching duck eggs and they are from my own flock

I have read that you don't have to worry till after 24 hours

I guess I'm just looking for some assurance

First pic is when I have the eggs in lock down the ones in the tray are for next hatch so I don't want the hatching ones to kick them.
Second pic is the first pipped egg but no progress since

Third pic is what I noticed this afternoon. I dabbed a little coconut oil on the membrane

Thank you

Attachments

• PXL_20230423_033019323.jpg
    PXL_20230423_033019323.jpg
    530.4 KB · Views: 202
  • PXL_20230425_121053487.jpg
    PXL_20230425_121053487.jpg
    224.5 KB · Views: 33
  • PXL_20230425_185856773.jpg
    PXL_20230425_185856773.jpg
    273.5 KB · Views: 34
@New duck mommy 2021

Ducklings can take a while between the external pip and actually starting to zip. It's hard work, and those first breaths of fresh air help trigger the absorption of the yolk and gives the duckling the energy to finish the job, so to speak.

If there's a pip, even on the wrong side, don't cover it with anything as it will block the oxigen the baby needs to breathe. The edges is fine.

Also, a couple of days at higher humidity will be okay and won't harm the other eggs.

First pip in the correct end could take 24-48 hours so don’t worry. The pip is in the right place