newbie breed question - friendly in hot weather

CajunChooks

Chirping
Apr 23, 2020
Howdy everyone, brand new member here... and soon to be new to raising chickens.

So, I am just getting started on everything, have been doing my reading and nerding out on coop plans, but can't quite figure out the ideal breed for my situation.

So, we want a good egg layer but also something very docile and easy to manage - we have a 13 month old and figured that he would appreciate them as pets soon enough. So based on those two factors, from what I read, something like a buff orpington would be good?

All that said, I was wondering about temperature tolerance - I live in New Orleans, so it is hot and humid for a good chunk of the year, and freezes are rare. Whenever I read things about breeds online, they always talk about cold tolerance, but not much about heat tolerance - is this a big issue?

In any case, that's my question: what's a good breed that lays lots of eggs, is as docile as possible, but will do OK in louisiana weather?

BONUS QUESTION: I am planning on getting 3 hens for now - should I consider maybe getting different breeds together?
also, because there was some convincing of my neighbor to go along with this - are there big differences in how much noise different breeds make?

Ok, sorry, that was several questions. Thanks everyone!

Good question! And welcome by the way! Orpingtons are a big, heavy, fluffy breed. I think your concerns are legitimate.

I think if you look at Heritage breeds (Buckeye, Dominique etc.), you'll find what you're looking for. Even maybe Welsummer. My Welsummer girls were so good and well-behaved.

My Orps aren't big fans of summer. I'm sure some people have figured out a way to manage them comfortably in hotter climes. There should be a Forum thread on here about people from like States (Louisiana)--maybe you could check that out!

And yes, I think you should get three different breeds to see which suits you best!

Good luck to you!