Recommended Chicken Reading

Davaroo

Poultry Crank
12 Years
Feb 4, 2007
Leesville, SC
I‘ve gotten a lot of emails over on the EZ-BYC site asking what books I recommend. In some ways this baffles me, since I am by no means an expert. There are no PhD's after my name and for the most part, I just follow the Five Rules of Chickens. But, above all, I am a proponent of simple poultry keeping practices and I believe that this is what is missing today... we have just forgotten much of the old, practical lore.

Much of what comes down the pike about chickens today is plainly a lot of trendiness. Oh, there is much poultry science and understanding, to be sure. But there is a pseudo-science being foisted off as essential - mostly because it sounds "organicky." Everything from protobiotic amoebic therapies to garlic-enriched yogurt infusions are said to be not only beneficial, but crucial to keeping poultry. I feel for the newcomer who just wants to keep it simple in the face of this hoo-haw. Chickens are one place where the KISS principle still applies.

So, I've made a study of how grandpa and his peers did things back in their day. They knew nothing of our “New Age” ideas, everything was "organicky" to them and, bottom line, they merely knew how to make chickens prosper with simple tools and simple materials.

You might want to read that as “cheap,” too, since they had to get the most for their money. In general, when properly managed to even a minor degree, chickens were a way to MAKE money for the old-timers, with moderate input in both cost and labor. For some it was actually their livelihood.