Rooster breed recommendations

Rosieposie6

Chirping
Dec 3, 2023
Howdy everyone
I will be adding a couple of baby chicks to my flock next month. Does anyone have any rooster breeds they prefer and have had great experiences with? I would love a rooster that is protective of the hens (we have alot of red tails in our area) but not a jerk to humans if that makes sense unless the those two personalities can’t coincide together...Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

I love australorps!! They originated in Australia so they tolerate heat well and I live in the arctic so they can handle cold temps as well. My rooster was the very best rooster EVER!!! He was an australorp. Great protector and great with kids too. He was my best friend!

Attachments

• 20230314_115536.jpg
    20230314_115536.jpg
    275.3 KB · Views: 1
Hello! I am a farmer with around 60 chickens, and I have many varieties of roosters. I have found that each rooster has a different personality, but my Rhode island red boy is especially good, he knows when to mate and when is too much and is always putting their needs before his. I have also had experience with an exceptional silkie who saved an old hen from a vulture, and later died protecting the hens from a possum. It is sort of tricky bc his brother is an abrupt and careless rooster.
I recommend an Orpington roo, or a RIR roo. If any males to not get, out of all my Roos, my americanas and California whites are very rude. I wish you the best of luck, and if you need roosters I sell in TN!

Protection in roosters is often misunderstood. One of the things a male has to do is look out for predators, and sound alarms when needed, giving his females an opportunity to take cover accordingly. A male that charges towards the threat is most likely going to end up dead, and in most cases, does not prove his efficiency in keeping the group safe. I'd recommend getting a male whose breed is the same as your current birds

This is also a good read