10 Health Precautions For Backyard Chicken Owners

Note: This page is for people who have a suppressed immune system, asthma, COPD or any condition that makes them especially susceptible to illnesses.
By CarolJ · Feb 17, 2012 · Updated Mar 27, 2012 · ·
Rating:
4.78571/5,
  1. AProverbs31Wife
    "Potentially life saving information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 29, 2019
    Thank you for providing an excellent, fact filled article. Even people with healthy immune systems should practice your advice of wearing a mask and practicing bio security in their coop.
    I developed organic toxic dust syndrome a number of years ago after going to work in what was considered a high bio security hog concern. I'd worked in hog barns for years and never had a problem but it put me down fast and ended my time in the barns.
    I didn't think about the chickens causing me any problems but within 2 weeks I was having severe pain in my legs and back, wanted to go to sleep by 6pm and just felt bla. My husband finally told me to use my nebulizer and do a lung treatment and start wearing a mask around the chickens. Bingo, leg and back pain gone. I'm still tired but that will pass in a few days. I have a number of auto immune issues and a rare disease I have to watch closely that I've probably flared.
    Diseases from barns or coops are nothing to mess with. The authors recommendations to wear a mask, have designated clothing and shoes for the coop should be mandatory for anyone entering your coop. Bio security is vital for both your health and the health of your flock.
    Thank you again for such an important and well written article.
  2. karenerwin
    "Full of very useful tips!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 24, 2019
    Fabulous article chock full of very good tips to help you stay healthy ( and help keep your flock healthy too) while enjoying your chickens!
  3. Brahmachicken240
    "Very helpful information."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 23, 2019
  4. Jewelespc1010
    "Healthy choices..."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 22, 2019
    I liked your post about the biosecurity. What it means and who it can effect. Also I liked the mention of using sand under roosts. Good info. Thanks
  5. MrPaw
    "Never thought of all this before"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 22, 2019
    I do the hand and egg washing and the "coop" shoes, but never thought to change my clothes. Will from now on.
  6. imneva
    "Very good info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 21, 2019
    Thanks for posting this. Very well written
  7. Stockpilejoy
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 19, 2019
    This article is much needed and was a huge reminder that I need to be more consistent with my practices. I fail to wear a mask 75% of the time I'm in the coop and my asthma symptoms have been showing up more recently. I thought holding my breath or slipping my shirt up over my mouth while racking the coop would help but it doesn't. From here on out my mask will be close by my boots so I don't forget to put it on.
    karenerwin likes this.
  8. fldiver97
    "Good practice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 16, 2019
    nice review on precautions when handling chickens, especially coop cleaning. Great that bio security is mentioned-protection of your flock is important
    Better Than Rubies likes this.
  9. N F C
    "Health Precautions"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 16, 2019
    Well written article!
    Better Than Rubies likes this.
  10. Steam Powered Chicken
    "Great Information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 16, 2019
    As a new Chicken mom, all these tips will come in handy to keep both our girls and ourselves feeling great. Thanks!
    Better Than Rubies likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: