A Guide To Understanding The Chicken Pecking Order

The chicken is a social bird that enjoys the company of its flock. Many social animals work out a hierarchy, and the chicken is no exception. The...
By Pinky · Jan 19, 2013 · ·
Rating:
4.6/5,
  1. 007Sean
    "Hen pecked!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 13, 2019
    Good article explaining the pecking order of chickens, and what to expect in the transitioning of different groups of birds.
  2. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Awesome Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 17, 2019
  3. Leenidia
    "Amazing and insightful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 12, 2019
    73B5FF00-EE37-4F0D-B17D-6985BAA3A0EB.jpeg 763D2459-C905-40AC-B0D7-B62DF541FA52.jpeg 7C9E0029-0A3F-4560-92B3-DC3BAE4D108B.jpeg F03F67FB-C435-410C-B611-317B4B2458D1.jpeg 1AB3819E-6950-487E-AB3B-4C57D7987F07.jpeg 2CB8747C-9FD9-4EA2-BA56-353A65591AA0.jpeg I have a beautiful feathered family and learned their social behavior just by watching, hours on end. However, didn’t really have pay much attention until I read this article. Enlightening it was!

    I love my feathered babies! They greet me each and everytime no matter the time, day, weather.. they’re loyal and I back to them. ☺️
    Thanks!!
  4. cluckmecoop7
    "Helpful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 11, 2019
    So helpful! Many reasons why.......

    :goodpost:
  5. alex5chickens
    "Totally right!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 10, 2019
    My chickens are more likely to fight if they've been locked up for a while. As soon as they're allowed out, they chase each other around for a while.
  6. Wendy Case
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 8, 2019
    :caf
    Very informative and a good read!
    Leenidia likes this.
  7. ryansmom06
    "Good info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 9, 2018
    Good information. I have a pullet that chases my daughter. This explains it
    thank you
    Chickenclaw likes this.
  8. ronott1
    "Good Article"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
  9. Anonymous
    "Possible improvements"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2018
  10. tjo804
    "Great information."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 4, 2018
    i do seem to notice my favored chickens usually end up at the bottom of the pecking order. I am not sure if I favor the weak or if the other chickens take note that I have given a treat "out of the order".
    I do try to respect their status and their environment and I have no problems with human aggression.

    This article has given me a bit more insight Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience.
    Leenidia and alex5chickens like this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: