Adding To Your Flock

Many of a start with just a few chickens and then quickly learn that we want to add more to the flock. Here's how to do that properly and safely
By Buff Hooligans · Jan 11, 2012 · ·
Rating:
4.68966/5,
  1. Briseggs
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 10, 2019 at 5:24 AM
    I never knew how important it was to quarantine, this article is very informative and helpful.
  2. mschickiemama
    "very informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 7, 2019
    important info
    IrishLad61 likes this.
  3. timewaster
    "Well Written"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Dec 26, 2018
    Wonderful ideas to use, we bought all our chickens at the same time. However, we had to pull an ill one and are now ready to reintroduce to the flock. Nice to read what other have already tired.
    IrishLad61 likes this.
  4. markntracy3
    "very educational"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    IrishLad61 likes this.
  5. alexa009
    "Excellent Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    Great article on reading how to introduce new chickens to your flock! I wasn't sure about the whole quarantine thing and learned some new things about the pecking order I didn't know as well. Thanks for writing!
  6. JedJackson
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    You covered all the basics and much more. Excellent job!
  7. grmakk
    "Best article on Adding To Your Flock"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    I enjoyed reading about the different ways of introducing new birds to your flock.
  8. Joeschooks
    "Informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    Informative and detailed article. Thank you
  9. N F C
    "Great Article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    This article should be required reading for anyone wanting to add new birds to their existing flock!
    GratitudeGates likes this.
  10. Cindycon
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    Excellent advice from a pro. I felt this article gave guidance that was needed because I am fairly new to chick raising.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: