"Chicken (Guard) Shack" - Hill Country, Texas

Disabled veteran builds chicken coop made of repurposed decommissioned guard shack.
By DDB · Mar 4, 2019 · ·
Rating:
4.92308/5,
  1. TeenageRooster's Dad
    "WOW What a great project!!!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 8, 2019
    ... question is.. if I drive by, will I be asked for my ID by a bunch of hens in guard uniforms? :barnie

    :thumbsup
    DDB likes this.
    1. DDB
      You bet you will...
  2. ronott1
    "Nice coop build!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Mar 8, 2019
    The article needs schematics and more build details. Nice materials list and great pictures!
    1. DDB
      I'll let the Air Force know you demand the schematics of a 40-year-old, 8 x 4 structure.
  3. Wendy Case
    "A wonderful repurposed chicken shack!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 5, 2019
    :goodpost:
    I enjoyed the read, dedication, detail and photos! Not to mention the ideas.
    Thank you.
    DDB likes this.
  4. Kayla's Lunch
    "Amazing! Thanks so much!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    DDB likes this.
  5. imneva
    "Love it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Article is well written and informative. Love the list of materials as well as all your pictures! I love your setup.
    DDB likes this.
  6. AngieMaesChix
    "Awesome!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Looks great!! And I thank you and your friend “sniper” for your service !
    DDB likes this.
  7. HeiHeisMom
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Thank you fo it sharing! Wonderful job!
    DDB likes this.
  8. MROO
    "Great Use of an Unusual Structure! Neat Coop, too!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    This is excellent - well thought out and well documented in both text and pictures. The nod to our service people is a wonderful bonus. The only thing I would add/adjust is to replace the chicken wire (poultry fence) with hardware cloth. Chicken wire is twisted, not welded, so it stretches when predators dig at it, opening enough for a raccoon, opossum or small fox to get in. It also tends to rust over time, especially in areas that soak and drain frequently.
    All in all, this is e GREAT build! It makes me want a guard shack!
    DDB likes this.
    1. DDB
      Thanks for the compliments and your attention to detail. My original plan was to use hardware cloth everywhere I mentioned poultry netting. Good catch. It came down to money. I do fully intend to re-do at least the window areas with machine cloth, because that is the stronghold. But 125+' x 2' would take a chunk out of my wallet ain't there to take right now. I agree the tougher stuff will do better, and your observation is noted.
  9. bruceha2000
    "Great build, quite unique."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Nice repurposing of the building and well thought out run area.

    You will likely find that the birds will be roosting on the upper shelf and whatever roost branches you have higher up. You might need a bit higher barrier on the nest areas to keep the shavings/hay/whatever in. Also, I was thinking about your drain holes in the floor. I think you'll need to cover them with a board of some sort between wash downs or they will get plugged with whatever you are using for flooring material.

    :thumbsup
    DDB likes this.
    1. DDB
      Thanks. I will watch the drain hole thing. I did make the holes large enough that a snake could get through would make chicken food--but not the other way around. I used a bit large enough I can use a handy stick to knock em clear. Stay tuned.
  10. 007Sean
    "Guard shack, cool!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Great article, cool repurpose, great photos!
    N F C and DDB like this.
    1. DDB
      Thanks.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: